Blind Dining

Perhaps you’ve heard of a dining trend that has sprung up over the past few years: restaurants where the entire experience takes place in total darkness.  You can see absolutely nothing.  The idea is that we are overly dependent on visual cues in eating, and if we take that away it will heighten the other senses.  (It is probably also a good way to develop greater hand-mouth coordination…perhaps something to try out on small children?  Just a thought.)  And for this, you pay what I can only consider a ridiculous amount of money.

Of course, we are the people who refuse to go to the Chinese Buffet unless we have coupons, so perhaps I am not the most qualified judge of high dining.

Luckily for me, I got to experience not only Blind Dining but also Blind Cooking last night, when Hungry Husband and I returned from spending an afternoon with friends to discover that the electricity was out.  And when you live, as we do, in a neighborhood of tightly-packed multi-story buildings, there is very little nascent light that filters in from outside.  And when you live as we do, in a temporary home, you are likely to  overlook purchasing emergency items like candles…

The good news is I had dinner all prepared, it just needed to be heated, easily done over the blue (sometimes orange) glow of the gas flame.  And then I settled down in front of the gentle glow of my laptop screen, warm soup in hand to watch an old favorite movie.  So, technically, I did not eat in the total darkness; I could see the outline of my bowl, my hand as it moved towards my mouth, though I could not really see my food…but it was probably as close to a real blind dining experience as I’ll ever get.  And it was free!

7 responses to “Blind Dining

  1. Dining in darkness is not my idea of enjoyment. Part of the experience is the beauty of the table (and by that I mean what’s put on the table). But 1 thing I love to see is creativity to figure out how to make the best of what is given. It’s a joy to see you doing that, my friend.

    • I agree that I think total darkness would ruin a lot of the ambiance that I consider essential to a good meal. (I also wonder if most people wouldn’t feel slightly uneasy dining in that situation? Although I would never claim to be afraid of the dark, I am not wholly comfortable doing anything in it other than sleeping!) Anyway, thanks for the encouragement 🙂 I put this and many of my recent experiences in the category of learning to be content in all circumstances.

  2. No! I have never heard of blind dining. When I was very young we used to go into a room and pass around things like peeled grapes and cold spaghetti. We said they were eyeballs and guts and it was all a haunted experience. Happy New Year!

  3. I could never eat in the dark. I need to see what I am eating to enjoy it. Point final.

  4. Hey! We want you back! In an effort to try and lure you back to the computer, I’ve given you the “Memetastic Award” for blogging. Go see my page. Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

