EGGPLANT WITH SWEET-AND-SOUR TOMATO SAUCE

I got some very distressing news today, courtesy of Agrigirl‘s latest post on her family’s revolt against eating eggplant.  Apparently, eggplant is very low in nutritional value.  I have loved eggplant for a long, long time and always felt proud of having it in my regular vegetable routine, especially now that I’ve found so many wonderful Middle Eastern ways to prepare it, so it was very sad to me that it may just be the purple equivalent of iceberg lettuce. I’m still going to eat it, though…

Coupled with this recent article from The New York Times, which has got me in a tizzy about whether or not I eat enough vegetables, today was one of those throw-my-hands-in-the-air-and-say-WHO-CARES sorts of moments.  Trying to stay on top of all the pronouncements regarding healthy eating is enough to make me think about giving up food entirely.  Fortunately I had a chocolate bar in the refrigerator, which brought me back to my senses.

EGGPLANT WITH SWEET-AND-SOUR TOMATO SAUCE

  • 1 large eggplant or 2 medium (about 1 kilo/2lbs. total), sliced about 1/2″ thick
  • Olive oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic, mashed
  • 1 1/2 lbs. tomatoes, peeled and chopped (I used pre-peeled and chopped, because my skin has developed a sensitivity to tomato juice recently)
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. vinegar (the original recipe called for red wine or white wine vinegar, but I used plain white and it seemed fine to me)
  • 2 Tbsp. pomegranate molasses
  • Chili pepper to taste (I used one fresh green chili pepper, very finely diced)
  • 1/3 c. parsley (I didn’t use this because I was not in a parsley mood)
  • Salt and pepper

  1. Broil your eggplant in a 400F oven, turning once so that it browns on both sides.  When done, remove from the oven and let cool.
  2. In a large pan, fry the garlic (and if you’re using fresh diced pepper, put it in now as well) until aromatic.  Add the remaining ingredients (except parsley) and simmer gently for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until it has reduced to a thick sauce.  Turn off heat, adjust seasonings, and let cool.
  3. To serve, pour the sauce over the eggplant and sprinkle with parsley.
4 responses to “EGGPLANT WITH SWEET-AND-SOUR TOMATO SAUCE

  1. Love the post! Thanks for the reference and I will try this recipe.

    • You’re welcome, I hope it will go over well with your family! And now that I know it is eggplant season in America, I will try to get some more eggplant recipes out soon. (It seems like it’s always eggplant season here…)

  2. I love eggplant, and could care less if it is at the top of the nutritious ladder or not; I eat enough lentils and such to compensate! Like your addition of pomegranate molasses to this dish, it makes a lot of difference!

    • Yes, the dish is good without the pomegranate molasses, but I think adding t gives a special extra kick. Pomegranate molasses is new to me; I’ve only started using it in the past few months. I’ve found that it generally seems to go really well with eggplant and with tomatoes, and all three together is even better!

Leave a Reply

