ROASTED PUMPKIN SOUP

It all started with this: a sick friend, ruminating on the blessings of soup fairies (my words, not hers).  I would like to be a soup fairy, but there are 10 time zones between us that prevent me from hand-delivering, and I doubt that DHL would get it to her hot.  Recent experience has shown them to be rather slower than the average magical creature, not to mention apparently lacking in GPS systems for their drivers…

But I did think that perhaps I could send her a few recipes, which I have yet to do, because not only am I not a soup fairy, I am occasionally lame about putting action to my ideas.  So Kristin, if you are ever well enough to read this blog, ask your mom or sister to make you this amazing soup.  And if you’re not Kristin, maybe you should consider getting sick so that you too can have soup fairies deposit steaming bowls of goodness on your doorstep.  Or just make the soup yourself, because it’s so stinkin’ easy and perfect for fall.

 

Roasted Vegetables, perfect any time of the year!

 

Lacking sweet potatoes, a key ingredient in the aforementioned soup delight, but having joyfully bought a wedge of pumpkin on my last trip to the market, I had to aim myself for something different.  More pumpkiny.  A little inspiration thanks to the Google machine, and I was on my way.

ROASTED PUMPKIN SOUP

  • 1 lb. pumpkin, peeled and cubed
  • 4 small onions, quartered
  • 5 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1-2 hot peppers, like a jalapeno (I have no idea what kind of peppers I buy here–they’re long and skinny and green and very hot to me)
  • Olive oil
  • Cumin, Coriander, and Mixed Curry spices, as you like (I used about 2 Tbsp. total)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Vegetable broth (amount depends on how thick you want your soup)
  • About 1 cup cilantro/fresh coriander

Put your veggies in a roasting tray.  Drizzle with oil, sprinkle the spices over them (like fairy dust!), and stir around so that every veggie piece is evenly coated.  Roasted in a HOT oven (like 400-425 F) until the pumpkin is soft and things are nicely browned.  Remove from oven and let them cool a few minutes so that you don’t risk mortal injury, then put the veggies and remaining ingredients into your blender or food processor and blend to your desired consistency, adding broth as needed.  Pour into a pot and heat through, adjusting spices as necessary.

7 responses to “ROASTED PUMPKIN SOUP

  1. mmmm. That looks delicious. One of my blog readers from down under says that pumpkin soup in Australia is a remedy like chicken soup is where I like.

  2. We just got 3 huge pumpkins/butternut hybrids from the garden and this will definitely be included in the list of dishes to cook with them!

    • I’ve never heard of a pumpkin/butternut hybrid–that sounds very interesting. There are so many recipes where I use pumpkin and butternut squash interchangeably, depending on what is available, but I never knew there was the possibly of getting them both at once, in the same skin!

  3. Pingback: BAKING POWDER BISCUITS « The AmerArab Life

  4. This soup looks so yummy! I can’t wait to try it. (Yes, I am finally getting caught up on all my blog reading.) I am a little intimidated by hot peppers–both because I don’t want the food to be too spicy and I’m not sure what to do with them. Any tips?

    P.S. Also, not all the links in the post seem to be working. Is that true from your computer as well?

    • Welcome back to the land of the reading and cooking! I hope you will continue to feel better. (And thanks for the tip about the link not working–I think I fixed it.)

      I am not really a big fan of super spicy things, but I have found that one jalapeno or similar pepper, diced very very small, in a big batch of soup is quite nice for me. I think small is really the key so that you don’t get too much in one bite. I don’t use hot peppers in very much of my cooking, but whenever I do I always try and dice them as finely as possible. I have wondered if roasting the hot peppers before using them in dishes would help?

Leave a Reply

