FIX THIS: POMEGRANATE POUND CAKE

Although my birthday started out in a very American fashion, I had more fusion-oriented ideas for dinner and my cake.  Dinner was scrapped when one of our neighbors offered me a ride to the surprise dinner party Hungry Husband was planning for me (not realizing that it was supposed to be a surprise—poor sad Hungry Husband).  But I was really excited about my cake idea and made it before we left that evening so that it would be waiting for a late-night treat.

Unfortunately, this is one of those thoughts that was better in my imagination than real life, and I’m giving it to you for a challenge.  The primary issue was a lack of flavor, as the pomegranate did not seem to contribute the way I expected.  The seeds also turned weirdly hard and nubby after baking.  What would you change to ramp up the flavor and accentuate the pomegranate-ness?  Any ideas on how to prevent pomegranate seed hardness?  The original recipe follows; leave your suggestions in the comments!

Pomegranate Pound Cake

  • ¾ c. sugar
  • 6 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 egg white
  • ¾ c. buttermilk
  • 2 tsp. lime zest
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 2 ½ c. flour
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • seeds from 1 pomegranate

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Beat the butter and sugar until well combined.

Add the eggs and egg white, one at a time, to the butter and sugar.  Beat well.

In a separate bowl combine the buttermilk, lime, vanilla and baking soda until thoroughly blended.

In another bowl combine the flour and salt.

Alternately add the milk mixture and the flour mixture to the eggs and butter until well blended and without lumps.  Stir in the pomegranate seeds.

Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

4 responses to “FIX THIS: POMEGRANATE POUND CAKE

  1. From the peanut gallery – not from any sort of cooking expertise. I remember there was a pomegranate bush in my Grandmother Rosser’s yard (back in the 1950’s). I think she made some sort of jelly from them – I tried a number of times to eat them, but they were so tart that just one tiny seed would really get your taste buds going. In addition, there wasn’t much edible around the small seeds.

    Now I know there are many different types of pomegranates. Here’s my suggestion – don’t put the seeds in the cake. Mash them and get the juice, put the juice in and then add some cranberries or craisins for color and additional flavor.

    Love, Uncle Jerry

    • I’ve never heard of pomegranate jelly, but that sounds delicious. If I could figure out how to make that, I think a plain pound cake with a spoonful of jelly would probably be just fine with me! I guess that’s a recipe to start searching for…

  2. Maybe try using pomegranate juice – either bottled, or just juiced right out of the fruit (in which case you’d want to add a little extra sugar)?

    • Yeah, I think I need to figure out how to make pomegranate juice. Oddly enough, I haven’t seen any here, but fresh pomegranates are just coming into season. I suppose adding the juice would also turn the cake an interesting color; I wonder if it would be strongly purple or just sort of pinkish?

Leave a Reply

