GUEST KITCHEN: OVER THE RIVER

As some of you know, Hungry Husband and I are in the midst of a great transition for work.  Right now we are living in a guest flat, and I profiled the kitchen for you a few weeks ago.  Over the next indeterminable period of time we will be visiting a few different cities throughout the Middle East, meaning that hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to view and/or cook in some different kitchens as well as sample some new cuisines.  I’ll bring you along as much as possible through my new “Guest Kitchen” series.

Our first trip was a little over a week ago.  We went Over The River and stayed in a guesthouse.  Because it was still Ramadan, we did not eat out at any restaurants (most of them were closed until the evening, by which point we were far too tired to go out), so although I am sure there are some specialties particular to that city, we didn’t taste any of them.  I did, however, get a few pictures of the kitchen in the guesthouse where we stayed.  It was pretty top notch in terms of equipment (except for knives—pathetically dull), and even had a dishwasher, which we did not use.  I would put this kitchen in the top 10% of kitchens I have seen throughout the Middle East in terms of its creature comforts.

Of course I made roasted vegetables one night!

Lots of cupboards with tall shelves

Refrigerator, Dishwasher and Microwave! This kitchen was created for convenience.

3 responses to “GUEST KITCHEN: OVER THE RIVER

  1. This is a little off-topic but, have you ever made the Smitten Kitchen rice krispy treats? They’re soooooooo good. Can you get rice krispies and marshmallows in the Mid East? If not, I will make sure you get some next time you’re stateside. http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/11/salted-brown-butter-crispy-treats/

    • No, I’ve never made the Smitten Kitchen rice krispy treats. I’m pretty sure there are rice krispie-like cereals I could get here…marshmallows I’m less certain about, although last week I made my first trip to Carrefour, a huge French chain grocery store that carries pretty much everything imported (including Hungry Husband’s blessed Sriracha aka “Rooster” hot sauce) and I’d say there’s a pretty good chance they have marshmallows.
      The recipe is that good, huh? I can’t remember the last time I had rice krispie treats that really excited me. May have to give it a whirl!

Leave a Reply

