THE CURRENT KITCHEN

The guest flat we’re staying in here in Hillside has a fairly fabulous kitchen.  I’ve certainly never had a kitchen this big in my entire adult life, with a lot of natural light and pretty stone countertops and floor tiles.

I’m trying to not get too attached, though, in spite of this:

What's that say?

That’s right, a proper, well-functioning refrigerator that will never get frozen shut!  With a separate freezer and doors that seal all the way around!  Be still, my beating heart!

It also has the requisite multiple burner gas stove.  Of course, we are still in the Middle East and so there’s bound to be a few quirks…in this case, that I can’t figure out how to get the oven lit.  I can hear and smell the gas and think I know where it’s coming from, but I’ve clicked the lighter all around inside the oven and cannot get a lit flame to save my life—or to roast my vegetables, for that matter.

Probably the closest you will ever get to seeing me on this blog.

Still, there’s plenty of counter space, cupboards galore, and (for a transitional place) a workable number of accoutrements, including plates worthy of a home at The Greatest Chinese Buffet Ever.  Which, apparently, is so great that it doesn’t even need to have its own webpage.

4 responses to “THE CURRENT KITCHEN

  1. Nice to have so much space and a gas stove to boot! Congratulations!

    • Thanks! Yes, I love so much counter space–that’s something that’s generally been lacking in my previous kitchens. And I definitely prefer a gas stove to electric; it’s been my experience that gas stoves are standard in the Middle East, unlike America where electric is more common.

  2. some floor tiles are made of polymers like polycarbonates and epoxy, i think they are much cheaper:”‘

    • Yes, there are many types of floor tiles. These in particular were ceramic, I believe. Not sure as to the cost, but the overall finishings in the apartment generally fall into the “Super Luxe” category here in the Middle East.

Leave a Reply

