Daily Archives: August 10, 2010

DESSERT: THE MOST IMPORTANT FOOD GROUP

As the heat continues (highs remaining above 100 for the next week) I am struggling to find ways to keep us eating.  Since it started heating up in April, Hungry Husband and I have both lost substantial amounts of weight, and although neither of us are sickly skinny I am trying to find ways to put light, tasty, and high-calorie foods in our diet.

So, I bake.  Having the oven on for an hour is…mmm…not so pleasant, but the resulting cakes and cobblers are tasty and easy to eat whenever we want a little something something.  For some reason I bought a kilo of green apples last week, and after trying to eat one I discovered it was too sour for me to eat on its own, making the remainders prime candidates for a pie or cobbler.

And this little treat is what we’ve been eating for the past few days.  The first time I made it, I grated the apples in my nifty food processor, a little gadget that I have wanted for a long time and have loved using these past few weeks.  I’ve got another in the oven right now, but I chopped the apples by hand instead of grating them.  We’ll see if one way is preferable over the other.

APPLE SPICE CAKE

  • 2 apples, peeled (I didn’t do this) and chopped or grated
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 125 g. melted butter (I didn’t melt the butter, either)
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 tsp. mixed spice

Combine all ingredients, and bake for 40 minutes at 350 F.  After you take it from the oven, brush the top with butter and sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.