THE BEAST

So, finally the long-awaited refrigerator post.  I’m sure you’re all dying with anticipation to meet The Beast.  I cannot think of anything else to call it, but rest assured there is some measure of good-natured tolerance in the nickname.  Some joking, but also a teeny bit of frustration, not to mention sadness at remembering the nice new stainless steel fridge that I had for my last few months back in America.

Sigh.  But here’s the thing: it is very hard to live without the capacity to keep things cold.  I did this once for five months, and although I learned how to deal with the daily shopping and never having the benefit of leftovers for an easy snack, I much prefer having a refrigerator.

Even this one, which I’m pretty sure is older than I am.

From the outside, it looks reasonably tolerable, unless you happen to notice that the rubber sealant at the bottom of the door is shriveled and doesn’t suction properly, or that there doesn’t appear to be a freezer.

Upon internal inspection, however, a few things pop up quickly: the fixed-space shelves, which do not have enough space between them to allow for my larger pots to fit in, no humidity-controlling fruit and vegetable drawers (for which we substitute plastic crates), and a temperature knob that seems to have no power to actually control the temperature.

All of this I can live with.  It is not ideal, and I find it terribly frustrating that yoghurt goes bad after three days and salads last two at best, but it is workable.  What I cannot stand, that causes me daily fretting and bi-weekly major frustrating is THE FREEZER.

Whoever invented in-refrigerator freezer compartments should be stuffed into one to suffer death by freezer burn.  This freezer is basically worthless, as you may guess.  The picture above was taken only one week after I had defrosted the refrigerator—a process which usually takes seven or eight hours and involves me spilling the water from the drip tray all over myself.  Two weeks after defrosting, the freezer has refrosted over so much that its pathetic little door will not close and anything inside is frozen solid to the freezer floor.  Not that it really matters, because even when the door is closed, the freezer section is not totally sealed off from the refrigerator, due to what I assume is an age-induced dip in the metal floor of the freezer compartment, creating a ½” gap between it and the doorframe.

Bah.  That’s all I have to say about that.

Leave a Reply

