THE COBBLER THAT ALMOST ISN’T

I woke up to a remarkably cool day, and decided that I should fire up the oven before the triple-digit temperatures return.  Inspired initially by a recipe for “Summer Fruit Kuchen” (which, sadly, called for brown sugar, an ingredient impossible to find round these parts—for a reasonable price, at least), I wandered through the world of internet recipes for something to do with cherries and peaches.  Numerous tempting recipes were found, but almost all of them called for ingredients I don’t have or more work than I was willing to do.  In the end, I settled for a simple cobbler.

The original recipe (below) called for canned peaches and no cherries, so I made a few changes.  I added some ground cinnamon and ginger for a little more depth of flavor, which was a good call.  Unfortunately, I didn’t check how much sugar I had prior to starting the recipe (answer: not enough), so even though I cut down on the water, I still ended up with somewhat thin but beautifully colored juice instead of syrup.  I debated draining it out but in the end left it in; the final results show I should have gone with my gut instinct.  Though it is quite golden on the bottom, and 5 extra minutes under the broiler turned it a lovely color on top, the center is jelly-like.  Tasty, but not quite the right consistency.

If I were going to do this again, I would simply put the cut-up fruit in the baking dish,  melt the butter and add it to the batter, and then pour the batter over top of the fruit.  Given the limitations of my oven (post forthcoming), that seems more likely to succeed.  It would also cut down on the sweetness factor, which tends to be a turn-off for Hungry Husband as far as desserts are concerned.  Likely, I will be eating this entire dish myself for breakfast tomorrow, which is not a bad way to start my day off.

RECIPE: PEACH COBBLER (courtesy of http://www.cooks.com)

  • 1 large can* peaches
  • ½ c. water
  • ¼ c. butter
  • 1 ½ c. sugar
  • ¾ tsp. baking powder
  • 1 c. flour
  • ¾ c. milk

1.  Pour peaches (with juice) into pot along with water and ½ c. sugar.  Bring to a boil, turn off heat, add butter and stir until melted.  Pour mixture into glass baking dish.

2.  Mix remaining sugar, baking powder, and flour with milk, and pour over fruit.

3.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or so, testing with a wooden toothpick to make sure it is done in the center.

*Can we discuss the fact that “1 large can” is a completely inadequate measure?

Leave a Reply

